ADDANAC CITY comics and news

January 31, 2009

ADDANAC CITY 10/29/08 Video Vexing

Filed under: Uncategorized — George @ 7:50 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

AC 89

This is another fan-favorite and one of my personal faves. In this strip, Hank and his dad go to their local video store in attempts of finding the perfect set of movies to rent. As all of us family-folk know, there’s a struggle to find videos that we and the children both can watch. It’s hard to locate a family-movie (PG) that will satisfy grown-up tastes as well as kids’ palates. I think we end up getting the good stuff for ourselves and foisting some dredge on our kids (although the kids’ selection has improved remarkably within the past ten years).

As for myself, I LOVED Superbad. I dunno if I wanna let my children watch it. Coincidentally, they have already seen it because they begged their mom to rent it for them and she had no clue how outrageous it was. Lucky tots (therapy has already been scheduled).

That reminded me of the old days when my family first got a VCR. My parents had no idea that videos had ratings, and that so long as I found a movie that would keep me outta their hair for 90 minutes, they were cool. As a Hank-like adolescent, I took full advantage of that. I rented all of the R-rated stuff, mostly comedies and action flicks. I had a ball watching my lil’ disgusting videos, my parents none the wiser. One of my favorite movie series when I was a kid was “Porky’s”. Those movies totally helped warp my tender, young mind (thanks, guys!). Nowadays, however, movies like Porky’s seem rather tame in comparison to what’s out now. So, I thought it would sorta be fun to have Hank’s dad tell him to pick out one of the classics. Usually, that’s a safe bet. Hahaha! Not this time.

And for those of you who liked Porky’s and films featuring crazy high-school debauchery, please check out Superbad.

1 Comment »

  1. Aah, Porky’s. The only movie with enough honesty to deal with teenage sexuality for the youth the 80’s by setting the premise in the 1950’s.

    Comment by Michael — January 31, 2009 @ 8:53 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

