ADDANAC CITY comics and news

February 6, 2009

ADDANAC CITY COMICS~ Hank’s Dad Sings The Greatest Hits

AC 78

10/14/08 A lot of times strip ideas just come to me out of the blue or by ordinary means. In one particular instance, I was preparing for the day, showering, shaving, and whatever, when I turned on the old radio in my bathroom. It was one of those old-school radios with the dial knob that you had to use to tune with. For some reason the radio wasn’t set to my regular station, but I listened to what was on anyway. Pleasantly enough, “Benny and the Jets” was playing. I’ve always had mad respect for Elton John and his plethora of nifty songs.

Needless to say, I started singing along, getting more and more into the rhythm of the song. As the chorus was blaring and I was crooning to the ceiling, I caught sight of my reflection in the mirror and just cracked up laughing! I thought it was so amusing that, here I was, a dude more comfortable belting out Lil’ Wayne lyrics was doing my best (or worst) Elton John impersonation. I was so glad that no one was around to catch me. I imagined Hank being there watching me with fascinated disgust and wondered what that little mischievous tyke would say. Then I took it just a tad bit further and envisioned Hank’s dad singing that song while in the shower. As with most of the ADDANAC CITY comic strips, the ideas just take on a life of their own. I could see Hank wielding a camcorder as he threatened to put Dad on YouTube.

So, yeah, that’s how this strip was born. It was one of my all-time favorites to create and I think it shows in the execution of the art and colors how much I enjoyed working on it.

Catch the latest ADDANAC CITY comic strip 7 days a week at:
http://www.addanaccity.com

2 Comments »

  1. Shower works for me too! I don’t know what it is, though I believe that all creative thought comes from stillness within and not from thinking.

    Comment by Michael — February 7, 2009 @ 1:11 pm

  2. You’re right! Plus, I think shower acoustics are fantastic.

    Comment by George — February 7, 2009 @ 2:30 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

